Skip to main content


best nhl central division oddsCentral Division odds have seen lots of ups and downs since its formation in 1993. The division is home to some of the National Hockey League’s (NHL) most famous teams, including the Chicago Blackhawks, the St. Louis Blues, and the Colorado Avalanche. It is the only team in the sports betting league to feature seven instead of eight teams. Since being formed, five teams in the division have made it all the way to the Stanley Cup finals but only on seven occasions, meaning that it isn’t a division that many bettors always pay attention to.

If you are looking to find out more about betting on the Central Division, make sure to stick around as we are about to have a good look at it. Below we have a look at each team’s odds to win the division this year, the history of the division, and some basic stats and facts about it to keep in mind. We also list the best NHL betting sites to place a wager on the team. So, read on and begin betting on the Central Division today!

Best NHL Central Division Betting Sites for Canadian Gamblers

Betting Site Best Feature Visit Site
1 BetWay Sports Betting Site Canada Soccer Bet Now
2 Unibet Review Great sports coverage Bet Now
3 Spin Sports Betting Site Canada Lottery Bets Bet Now
4 Mr Play Sports Betting Site Canada Streaming
Expert Edge
Bet Now
5 10Bet Sports Betting Exchange Bet Now
More Online Bookies

Odds to Win Central Division

As mentioned above, there are currently seven teams in the division. Below we look at each team’s odds of winning the division this season:

  • Chicago Blackhawks – despite winning the Stanley Cup on three occasions in the last decade, the Blackhawks aren’t exactly playing very well. They’re very much on the wrong end of both the division and conference tables, with very little chance of this changing anytime soon.
  • Colorado Avalanche – the Avalanche have had some success in the past, having lifted the Stanley Cup on two occasions. They seem to be on an upswing at the moment with a good chance of taking the division if they are able to get one over on the Blues.
  • Dallas Stars – as one of the newer teams in the division, the Stars have only managed to get a single division championship win. They aren’t really a team set to win the division; rather one more likely to make the playoffs as a wild card.
  • Minnesota Wild – as with Dallas, the Minnesota Wild are more likely to make playoffs as a second or third place team or even as a wild card than by winning the division. Since joining the Central Division, they have never won a Division Championship.
  • Nashville Predators – the Predators won the division championship in two consecutive seasons in 2018 and 2019. However, it seems that they have reached their peak and are not in line to win the division any time soon again.
  • St Louis Blues – although the Blues won the Stanley Cup title in 2019, they have not won a division championship since 2012. Their recent good form suggests that they are prime to win the division in coming seasons though.
  • Winnipeg Jets – the Jets have had a few nears misses, coming second in the Central Division in 2018 and 2019. They seem prime to make the playoffs as a wild card this year as a part of their division.
top nhl central division lines

History of the Central Division

The Central Division replaced the Norris Division following the 1993 NHL realignment. Originally, this NHL Western Conference division was made up of six teams: the Chicago Blackhawks, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, St. Louis Blues, Toronto Maple Leafs, and Winnipeg Jets (which later became the Phoenix Coyotes in 1996).

In the division’s early years, it was dominated by the Detroit Red Wings who won the championship title 11 times in the first 14 seasons. The only other two teams that were able to pick up wins in this time were the Dallas Stars in 1997 and 1998 and the St. Louis Blues in 2000.

It is important to note that the line-up of the division changed again after the 1998 season, and the Toronto Maple Leafs, Dallas Stars, and Phoenix Coyotes were moved to different divisions. The Nashville Predators were added to the line-up to compensate for the losses. In 2000, the Columbus Blue Jackets were added to the roster to bring the total number of teams to five. The division would retain this form until 2013.

Since the last adjustment in 2013, the Central Division has been made up of the Chicago Blackhawks, Colorado Avalanche, Dallas Stars, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, St. Louis Blues, and Winnipeg Jets. It is set to change again once the Seattle-based franchise joins the league.

Popular NHL Central Division Stats

Sometimes having a clear-cut look at some stats helps bettors make better wagers. Well, here are some truths about the Central Division CA bettors should keep in mind:

  • Since the Central Division was formed, a team in the division has won the Stanley Cup on eight occasions. The Detroit Red Wings won it four times when they still formed part of it, then the Chicago Blackhawks won it three times, and most recently the St. Louis Blues lifted the Cup for the first time in 2019.
  • With regards to the most division championships won, the Chicago Blackhawks, Dallas Stars, and St. Louis Blues are all tied with three. If teams that are no longer in the division were taken into account, the Detroit Red Wings lead with a total of 13 titles.
  • The team has produced 10 Presidents’ Trophy winners since its formation. The most recent is the 2017-18 Nashville Predators.
  • The division has had five teams make it to the playoffs in three of the last five seasons.
  • Over the last decade, a team from the Central Division has made the Stanley Cup finals on five occasions.

More NHL Guides: