Skip to main content


AFC West PredictionsThe American Football Conference West Division or AFC West forms part of the four divisions of the AFC in the NFL. As with its counterparts, the division also consists of four teams; the Los Angeles Chargers, Oakland Raiders, Denver Broncos and Kansas City Chiefs. It is also as old as the AFC East, making both divisions the oldest of all four.

As you may already know, AFC West teams have competed in the Super Bowl sixteen times. In 2017, the Raiders and Broncos tied with the most wins in the competition within their division. You may also know that the division went through a realignment in 1977, with some teams being added and moved again. Each of the current teams won the division title at least once in the first four years; that is Oakland in 2002, then Kansas City in 2003, San Diego Chargers (now Los Angeles Chargers) in 2004 and Denver in 2005.

AFC West is one of the most favoured NFL AFC divisions by bettors. This is because it features some of the strongest teams and bookies always have highly competitive odds prices for the teams. In this guide, our experts discuss everything you need to know about AFC West. We provide you with a list of the best Canada sport betting sites to wager on the AFC West division, top predictions and odds to win the AFC West division, and the division’s history.


Betting Site Best Feature Visit Site
1 BetWay Sports Betting Site Canada Soccer Bet Now
2 Unibet Review Great sports coverage Bet Now
3 Spin Sports Betting Site Canada Lottery Bets Bet Now
4 Mr Play Sports Betting Site Canada Streaming
Expert Edge
Bet Now
5 10Bet Sports Betting Exchange Bet Now
6 22Bet Sports Betting Site Canada Weekly Specials Bet Now
7 Royal Panda Great App Bet Now
8 Intertops Strong Fantasy Sports Platform Bet Now
9 888 Sports Leading Fantasy Sports Betting Site Bet Now
10 Mr Green Sports High Value Odds Bet Now


Currently, the NFL AFC West consists of four teams, as already mentioned, and are as follows:

  • Denver Broncos (15 titles), based in Denver, Colorado
  • Kansas City Chiefs (11 titles), based in Kansas City, Missouri
  • Oakland Raiders (15 titles), based in Oakland, California
  • Los Angeles Chargers (15 titles), based in the Greater Los Angeles Area

AFC West Football Teams


The Kansas City Chiefs are sportsbooks’ favorite to win, followed by the Chargers then the Raiders and lastly Broncos. The Chiefs are the recent AFC West champions having scooped their 11th title. They finished tied with the Chargers with an identical 12-4 record in the previous season but had a much better divisional record. All the other teams, however, are sitting at 15 division titles each. But, teams such as the Raiders and Broncos are least favoured.

Kansas City Chiefs: -155

Los Angeles Chargers: +195

Oakland Raiders: +1100

Denver Broncos: +1200



The Kansas City Chiefs have the least number of titles compared to all the teams in the AFC West, but there’s a reason why they’re bookies’ favorites. The team has won the AFC West three years in a row, and they might be coming for everything. Most bookmakers expect the Chiefs to finish on top once again with MVP quarterback in Patrick Mahomes. Meanwhile, the Raiders and Broncos have each won six or fewer games in 2018 with questionable quarterbacks.

AFC West Division Kansas City Chiefs


The Chargers are regarded the most likely AFC West champion after the Kansas City Chiefs. The team was a tiebreaker away from winning the division last year if KC didn’t take it. The Chargers have really talented players, and bettors can expect them to at least return to the playoffs and they are capable of taking the division down in the 2019-20 season.

AFC West Los Angeles Chargers


The Oakland Raiders may have the worst odds of winning the division title and the Super Bowl. But with a revamped roster in 2019-20, things may turn out differently. The team added even more talented players including the likes of Vontaze Burfict and Richie Incognito. In addition to that, they also added four players from the College Football Playoff National Championship in the draft. If the new roster performs well, it could mean more cash for you if you bet on them to win.

AFC West Division Oakland Raiders


The Broncos are a risky bet. In 2018, they opened up with big home wins but failed to keep the momentum. This was followed by a four-game losing streak. Thereafter, they won and lost a couple of times. Or perhaps things might get better in 2019-20 with Fangio at the helm, and Phillip Lindsay returning after his wrist injury.

AFC West Denver Broncos


The AFC West was founded in 1960 as the American Football League’s west division. In 1970 the AFL was merged into the NFL’s two conferences and the division was entered into the league. The original AFL West consisted of four teams which had, to date, remained to be part of the AFC West. Some of the teams had name changes as they moved cities; the Kansas City Chiefs were previously known as the Dallas Texans and the Los Angeles Chargers as the San Diego Chargers. In the 2000s, the AFC West was regarded as one of the NFL’s “toughest divisions”.

More NFL AFC Betting Guides: